how to read SPL level in my room? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 12 Old 05-16-16, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

how to read SPL level in my room?

Hi guys, noob here,

Probably asked a milllion times... I'm interested in getting the Dayton EMM-6 mic and downloading REW for setting up my 2 satellites and sub. I see how I can get all the eq response and comparison levels for the speakers with this mic and software, but how do I know the actual SPL in my studio?

You're supposed to set up the system at around 85 dB, right? Do I have to get an SPL meter as well? Can you just calibrate / test things at a comfortable listening level and not worry about the absolute level?

Thanks much,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 05-17-16, 08:27 AM
Elite Shackster

Tony

My System
Re: how to read SPL level in my room?

Yes, ideally getting a hand held SPL meter is the best option or in a pinch you can download an SPL app on your phone I use the AudioTools app on the iPhone and its quite accurate as Ive compared it to my handheld meter that I also own.

Home theater:
Onkyo 805, Yamaha YDP2006EQ, Samson Servo 600 amp
3 EV Sentry 500 monitors across the front, 4 Mission 762i's Surrounds, SVS PB13U sub, Panasonic BDT220, Harmony 1100, Nintendo WiiU
Panasonic PT-AE8000 on a 120" 2,35:1 fixed screen

Living room system:
Sherwood/Newcastle R972, Mission 765's, SVS SBS02's, A/D/S MS3u sub, Yamaha YDG2030EQ
Yamaha KX-393 Tape deck, CDC 805 CD changer, Panasonic BD60, Sony turntable PS-T20
Panasonic TC-P50ST60, HD-PVR & WDTV Live, Harmony 900

post #3 of 12 Old 05-17-16, 11:11 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

OK, yeah thanks, I'm not actually trying to EQ up my room at the moment, just calibrate my 2.1 system... but thought that I could kill 2 birds with one stone if I got a decent reference mic.