Saffire PRO24 calibration - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 15 Old 12-12-11, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
LoG
Shackster
AnaLoGMunKy

Saffire PRO24 calibration

Hi peoples

This is my first post and Im in dire need of help (aren't we all)
I am a sound production student so I have some knowledge, but as this shows, not nearly enuf!

I am using the Focusrite Saffire Pro24 DSP and am having trouble even getting a simple calibration. Here is a guide to what I am doing.

I have 6 Line outs and 4 line in's
All cables are unplugged exept for the firewire to my PC.

I have several ways to control the amplitude.
I can turn up the line in gain (it is also an XLR) and I have my main monitor gain. These are hardware pots on the front of card.
I can use the internal Saffire MixControl software mixer to control individual ins, outs and mix etc and also I can do some routing.
I can use REW

I take my 1/4 inch and pop it from Line output 2 to Line Input 2
All the REW settings are default

When running soundcard calibration in REW, I get the test tone sitting at -12dB and my right channel amplitude is sitting at around -86dB

I can fiddle with the pots on my Saffire but I get either a weak signal or what seems to be feedback even tho I am not monitoring the input

I know this is a rather meager amount of info but I am really not sure where to start

I need some peeps with patience the right questions and a knack for talking to newbs

Thanks

LoG
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 12-12-11, 03:02 PM
Elite Shackster

Re: Saffire PRO24 calibration

> If you're running Win7 or Vista ( you didn't bother to say ), go now ( like right now ) to This Thread ! .
> Read it and make sure you are setup for 2 channel input .