Wanting to upgrade sub amp, but ... (fan noise, thumps, and DSP, oh my!) - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 7 Old 06-14-15, 12:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
dane

Wanting to upgrade sub amp, but ... (fan noise, thumps, and DSP, oh my!)

Introductions:
I'm not very new to HT, been working on mine since the mid-90's.. But I tend to upgrade in spurts and live with it for years before going through another "growth spurt." At this point, I'm pretty happy with my setup, except the subwoofer amplifier. So it's time for another spurt of research and learning! I'm hoping some of you can help answer some questions.. I am an electrical engineer, so actually modding equipment doesn't phase me in the slightest. I've repaired several Audire Forte amps over the years and plenty of other electronics.. However, as a mid-to-late-30-something with a young family, my TIME to make complicated mods isn't what it used to be. So these days, I am wiling to spend a little more for the convenience of not having to mod in the first place.

What I have today:
I currently have a second-hand (truth be told, I think it's more like a fourth- or fifth-hand) Crate Audio SPA2000 used to drive two AV123 UFW-10 sealed 10" subs (converted to passive subs a few years back when their plate amps failed). The amp is powerful but loud, extremely heavy (60lbs?), and occasionally cuts out. It was bought second-hand a few years back for $100, so I was happy to put up with its peculiarities at the time, but now I'm just ready to move on.

What I've been looking at lately: