replacement amp for a velodyne ct 150 - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 23 Old 11-02-12, 02:46 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
cryingday

replacement amp for a velodyne ct 150

I was doing a google search on how to repair my velodyne ct 150 when I came across a post on this forum. I'm a newb when it comes to DIY projects so I'm wondering how easy or complicated it is to replace the built in amp.

The person who replied suggested using a 300W BASH® Subwoofer Amplifier from oaudio. This got me to thinking in a more is better sort of way. Could I get away with using a more powerful amplifier, say a 500w? If so are there any pitfalls or warnings I need to be aware of, like setting my carpets on fire?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Cryingday
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 11-02-12, 04:29 PM
Senior Shackster

fbov

Re: replacement amp for a velodyne ct 150

I'm seeing two issues:
- form factor
- feedback.

There are many choices in the 200-300W range for plate amps intended for subwoofers. I can just about guarantee that none of them will be a drop-in replacement, and I will guarantee that none are equipped to interface with Velodyne's feedback circuit. You will find a lot with similar features, but this is a fairly old product line, so its features may not be commonly needed anymore (thinking filtered main speaker outs here).

That said, the sub will likely work without the feedback loop connected, and if you have basic woodworking skills, it's not hard to fill the old amp cut-out and cut a new one. The BASH amps (both PE and O-audio) are good, but PE's 250W is a close match to what you had. What it comes down to is the relative features... if you use speaker level signal as the input, you need speaker level inputs for example. Many people do all their filtering on the AVR and bypass the amp internal filters, making a filter bypass important. You get the idea....