Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/)
-   Subwoofer Amps | High Pass Filters (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/subwoofer-amps-high-pass-filters/)
-   -   what suggestion to set HPF (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/subwoofer-amps-high-pass-filters/119066-what-suggestion-set-hpf.html)

apilon 04-10-15 06:29 PM

what suggestion to set HPF

Good evening

I am almost done with buiding a micro marty and i need to tune the port to 23 Hz ..........I will be using a Behringer EP4000 to drive that sub so my question is what do you recommend to set the HPF to 23 Hz ??

Thanks

Alain

nova 04-11-15 12:29 PM

Re: what suggestion to set HPF

I'm no expert but I thought you'd set it 1/2 octave below your tuned frequency, so 17 Hz?

I'm sure someone with more knowledge on the subject than me will be able to provide you with a better answer.

apilon 04-11-15 02:59 PM

Quote:

nova wrote: (Post 1171626)
I'm no expert but I thought you'd set it 1/2 octave below your tuned frequency, so 17 Hz?

I'm sure someone with more knowledge on the subject than me will be able to provide you with a better answer.

Hi Mark

Thanks for the answer, what i am looking for is mot in term of what additional equipment do i need to get to setup the HPF

muzz 04-11-15 06:33 PM

MiniDsp is what most folks use when they don't have onboard DSP.

I assume that when you modeled your sub that you know where to set the HPF, I'm not sure what you mean by "Tune the port" though.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt 04-11-15 10:03 PM

Quote:

apilon wrote: (Post 1171786)
Hi Mark

Thanks for the answer, what i am looking for is mot in term of what additional equipment do i need to get to setup the HPF

Are you looking for a DIY solution or something off-the-shelf?

Regards,
Wayne

apilon 04-12-15 12:36 AM

Quote:

Wayne A. Pflughaupt wrote: (Post 1172153)