Help with dual passive sub hookup to old reciever - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 25 Old 03-08-14, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Maverick

Help with dual passive sub hookup to old reciever

I'm set on buying a pair of 10 inch Monoprice passive in-wall subs and I'm not sure if I could use my old receiver as a dedicated amp for them.

Here's how I understand it but I'm not sure if it will work or if there's not a more suited solution as I have never done this before.

So I would be connecting both subwoofer outs from my new receiver (presumably a Yamaha RX-A830 or another similar 7.2 receiver, I have yet to decide) to two rca inputs on my old Pioneer VSX-D1S. I'm guessing I would need a "Y" splitter to split the subwoofer out of my new reciever to connect to both left and right inputs on the old receiver. On the attached image I would be using VCR 1 and 2 inputs on the old receiver as signal in.

Then I would use speaker cables to hookup the front speaker output of my left and right channels to each of the two subs.

I would then set the old receivers volume at a balanced volume and leave it there using the new receiver for general volume adjustment (including the sub).

I'm no expert so any input is appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with dual passive sub hookup to old reciever-rear-d1s.jpg  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 03-08-14, 06:10 PM
Elite Shackster
Kal

Re: Help with dual passive sub hookup to old reciever

Quote:
maverick_goose wrote: View Post
I'm set on buying a pair of 10 inch Monoprice passive in-wall subs and I'm not sure if I could use my old receiver as a dedicated amp for them.

Here's how I understand it but I'm not sure if it will work or if there's not a more suited solution as I have never done this before.