Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi folks. It's my first time owning a DIY sub. It's 2 18" Ficar driver.

I have a question/clarrification or soliciting your comments. There were a lot of claims that the sound right after the guy said "Irene" from the movie Black Hawk Down was below 10Hz. I do believe that it was below 10Hz because I saw my drivers cone move very slowly forward and backward. It was the same movement that I saw when I was playing a test tone of 10hz.

However, I didn't feel anything at all. The only time I would feel bass pretty badly/insanely is that when it's above 18Hz. So guys, please let me know what you think about that 7Hz from Black Hawk Down's Irene scene. Do you really feel it? I want your honest experience please. :)

·
Registered
63 Posts
What kind of spl are you getting with a 10hz test tone? In my experience it takes a lot of spl to feel 10hz strong enough to notice it during a movie.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did not measure. I can try again. But like what I said, I wasn't feeling anything at all. I guess, I'll just have to wait until I move my manifold to the false wall. Someone told me that I can fry my drivers with the way my manifold is setup now.

·
Registered
866 Posts
First off, even with two high-displacement 18"ers there is still a limit to how much energy the drivers are making at 10Hz. 10 Hz requires four times the energy as 20Hz to make the same amount of sound.

Secondly you can't hear 10 Hz. Down that low all sound is, as you say, felt. I believe there is some misconception as to how and where you should feel low bass. Here is my take;