Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

This is my first attempt in characterizing my room. My setup is as below:

Integrated Amp : Holfi Megarus 928 (upgraded)
CD : Holfi Xara (direct to int amp)
Mains : Dali Ikon6 (direct to int amp)
Sub : Dali IkonSub (hooked to integrated amp using sub out in amp L/R & LFE from Onkyo 875)
Surrounds : Dali Ikon OnWall
AV Amp : Onkyo 875 (fronts pre-out to aux-in to integrated amp)
BD Player : PS3 (waiting for the Oppo83)

I used a XP based laptop, SB Live Creative USB Sound Card, RadioShack SPL meter.

The 1st to the 4th charts uses output from the sound card to the Onkyo, the 5th chart is output from the sound card to the integrated amp.

The 1st chart (sub only) is input thru the cd channel in the AV amp and initiating the Stereo Mode on the AVR (Audyssey enabled). The front channels are fed thru the pre-outs on the AV amp to my integrated amp.

The 2nd chart (sub+main) is the same as 1st chart but includes the mains as well.

The 3rd chart is a full range measurement of the sub + main using the Onkyo's stereo mode Audyssey enabled (1/12 octave smoothing)

The 4th chart is a full range measurement of the sub+main using Onkyo's Pure Audio mode that has no Audyssey correction. These are sent out thru the front pre outs that are fed to the integrated amp. The integrated amp has sub outs as well. (1/12 octave smooting)

The 5th chart is a full range measurement (to 3kHz only) of the sub and mains but fed thru the CD input of the Megarus 928 integrated amp. (1/12 octave smoothing)

Please bear in mind that these are RS charts. I am waiting for the Galaxy CM-140 that I should receive in a week or two. However, the Audyssey corrected charts look much better with less peaks. I believe it might be better for me to switch the CD player to the AVR CD input and using Audysseys correction for CD listening as well. Does this make sense?