Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Attempting initial run on Friday afternoon while I have house to myself, real work done tomorrow when my first batch of questions get answered, and here's one now;

- d/l the cal. file for my RS analog meter, but where do I upload it to?

EDIT: disregard, found it.

Meanwhile, here's what I have.

Pio AVR that only goes down to xo of 100, but replacing it soon.
SVS sub.
Rocket setup of RS1Ks front, Bigfoot, and RS250MKIIs in rear.
REW 4.11 on my XP MCE htpc with M-Audio soundcard

I have a new house, my gear is in family room on 1st floor that is open to kitchen, so its a big space. The sub is on side wall, next to opening to living room that is open to second floor.

I'm a Product Designer for a healthcare software company, so kinda literate on things electronic, though could always stand to learn 'just one more thing'.

Recently attended an AV123 GTG where I watched Mark Seaton tune a pair of MFW-15s for theater use, and have since found myself unhappy with the 'flabby' sound of my sub. I doubt its the sub, all I ever did was run AVIA 3 years ago, that's it.

TGIF - Gene

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Stumped already - soundcard calibration.

At the first stage, using 1Kh tone to set levels, how do you know when this process is done? It ran 10 mins, no message of any sort, though there are values in sweep level, wave volume and output volume.

I made sweep volume -6 for a second try, but after a few minutes there's no message that says I've accomplished anything.

Wave volume is 1.0, Output is .5, both are greyed out.

The values in 2 columns for output are aprox -80 on top and -90 on bottom.

Guess I'll hit next and see what else happens.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)