Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Title pretty much sums up where I'm at and going...

I've ordered my UXL-18 driver and in my garage is a big 24" diameter sonotube that's 6 feet tall....it looks bigger than I thought a 2' tube would look. I think the brain plays tricks on you when you look at it. Also it says that it will withstand 48 hours or rain, good to know if my basement gets flooded!

I'll need help since this is my first build but I've logged a LOT of hours reading and learning about DIY subwoofers and such...

Here's the 'big blue' sitting in my garage....

I'm going to place it here....it's close to back seating (about 3 feet from listening position). I've got a svs pb12 plus in the front, so this is the only location that I could put this in the room. Room is about 3200 ft3 with a pool table/bar area attached....

Ok...so onto the build. I guess my first thought is opinions on the actual size of this thing. I've got option to go all the way to 6' tall but want to get the best out of the UXL-18. The room is for HT use only, so I want get 'low'...14-15hz tuned is what I'm thinking.

I've modelled the following in WinISD.

11 ft3
15 hz tuned
1200 W
port 8" x 48"
is the 1st port resonance too low?
no HPF
all other variables (cone excursion and air velocity seem fine)....

Since I'm flexible with the actual volume, what would be the 'sweet spot' in getting the most out of the driver for HT?

Thoughts or opinions.....anything is good!

David

·
Premium Member
1,923 Posts
Looks like a monster of a sub project! The first port resonance looks ot be around 140Hz, which is a little low. If you limit your Xover point to 70-80Hz or below, and it's 48dB/octave, I think you'll be okay...

·
Premium Member
5,869 Posts
Awesome to see another UXL subwoofer build. I am thinking of getting a few of these now. So watching these builds is helping me be a patient man.

·
Premium Member