Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, all! Newbie here.

I'm in the process of building and outfitting a dedicated listening room/home theatre. The goal is to use my 2 channel components to the greatest degree possible in my HT and still be able to switch back to 2 channel listening when I am so inclined. I will probably use the room about 50/50 for stereo listening and movies. Aiming for a 5.2 setup for HT.

Here's the current equipment list:

Soundlab U2 main speakers
Apogee columns rear channel speakers
Rythmik Audio F15 subs (2)
Jordan JSX 92 full range center channel drivers (2)

Edge Signature monoblocks (main L & R channels)
Anthem 3 channel amplifier driving rear and center channels

Dodd Audio tube preamp ( has HT pass-thru)
Pass Labs XP-10 (also has HT pass-thru)

OPPO BD 95

I will probably buy a Marantz AV 8801 for a prepro

Questions:

How do I best integrate the two systems? I can definitely wire up the 2 channel part, but will need some help getting the HT aspect together. A basic wiring diagram would be most helpful.

Most specifically, not sure how to incorporate the prepro into the system while still retaining the use of the 2 channel preamps when needed. I know a lot of you will be really tempted to tell me to ditch the Dodd and the Pass, but I really don't want to do that. This exercise is all about having my cake and eating it too! (BTW, no, I'm not planning on using the Dodd and Pass simultaneously, but switching between them if and when I want to).

Also, I'm using Rythmik's PEQ3 amplifiers and am not sure how to best integrate the powered subs into the system so as to be able to use them for both HT and 2 channel listening.

I'm hoping that someone out there has done a similar install and can lend some guidance. Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
168 Posts
The fact your pre-amp has by-pass is all you need. Only hook up one of the pre-amps.