Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm moving to a house and looking at getting a nice high quality 2.1 setup if towers alone don't suffice and one that I can eventually expand later to possibly 4.1 or 5.1.

I'm kind of new to high quality audio, so as of right now, I don't have any preamps or amps or any major equipment so anything you guys can suggest that would be a great combo would be really helpful.

My needs are loud for movies and delicate and very good imaging for music. I want something that I won't need to upgrade for a long time. My budget is probably 5k for the towers alone, but I would prefer if I could keep all the necessary equipment for them under 5k.

I have looked into JTR, Power Sound Audio, Klipsch, Monitor, and am definitely open to any new suggestions.

Thanks!

·
HTS Moderator , Reviewer
3,335 Posts
With your budget Seaton Sound would be another contender, as would Funk Audio. Both companies make highly regarded speakers and subwoofers.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hello!

I'd advise you to go for a minimalist system with (1) an integrated source component and (2) active speakers.

By (1), I mean a source device that can stream, play fixed media, and serve as a D/A convertor. The Oppo universal players come to mind here (and they're cheap now since they're being discontinued); they're really reliable, so look for a used one. They play all manner of disc, and stream WiFi and can be used with a streaming TV like an AppleTV. Some of the models have audiophile D/A convertors and balanced outputs.

Another option here would be any of the various combined D/A convertor + pre-amps like the Mytek Brooklyn, which even has a phono pre-amp and remote volume control (and a balanced output). Many of the budget audiophile brands like Naim, Rotel, Bryston and Cambridge have products in this category.