Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
449 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a bit of a newbie and Mike P has helped a bunch already:

1. What is the exact cut out size for the maelstrom?

2. What is the reccomended watt power for an amp?

3. If I use a hpf for the low end, is it possible that Audyssey MulitEQ XT will be enough to EQ 1-2 of these beasts?

And finally (sorry lied about 3) - If an SVS PB13 Ultra is having a hard time with my odd shaped 1900 cubic feet room and an hsu vtf-3 mk3 had an even harder time, Is it likely that I can get by with a single Maelstrom in an LLT?

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Re: 3 Maestrom Questions

Ok....

#1. The OD is 18.5" but wait to cut your box until you have a driver. It is always nice to have the physical part on hand to test-fit.

#2. The EP2500 is a very popular amp. It is rated at 2400W into 4-Ohms bridged and that is a pretty good fit. I have people using anywhere from the 1000W plate amps to the 3000W pro amps. I don't have any thermal failures at this point but you can mechanically overdrive it using amps at the top end of that spectrum.

#3. I don't have an Audyssey product on hand nor have I used one. If it has a variable subsonic filter that can be set, that is all you need in terms of driver protection. It needs to be usable under the port tuning you choose. In terms of it's EQ capability, I don't use them so I am the wrong person to guide you on that choice.

In terms of comparisons with other subs, I don't have an SVS to compare with but there isn't a 12"-13" sub made that can even come close to comparing to the output you can get from a Maelstrom. Our Shiva-X (12" sub that is very capable) is a toy in comparison. You are in a totally different category in terms of output potential and the difference isn't small. That isn't a knock on those other brands, it is just the reality of the size of drivers you are comparing, the power used in the system and the overall physics involved.