Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking into my first real DIY speaker project. These will be speakers that get used but also are practice for future projects which will be more complicated. So I don't want to go too simple or with a kit. My dad is handy with woodworking tools and I have some experience with electronics. My dad also used to build speakers back in the 60s and 70s.

I want a bookshelf speaker with solid bass (no room for a sub). It doesn't have to be super-deep bass - it's for music not HT.

I'd like to do a 3-way design. To simplify cabinet construction I've chosen a sealed-back midrange.

Tweeter: Visaton DT94-8
Midrange: Visaton M 10
Woofer: Visaton W170-8

I've tried to match sensitivity as much as possible. I think this tweeter and woofer would make a decent 2-way bookshelf so I'm hoping by adding the midrange it will add clarity as well as freeing up the woofer for the deeper sounds. However this midrange has a 700 Hz resonant frequency so I understand I would need the first crossover at 1400 Hz which is pretty high...

I'm hoping to be under $125 per speaker on parts (not counting the MDF or whatever we end up building them out of).

·
Registered
683 Posts
Welcome to the Shack! I'm interested to see what the responses are for this as I have no experience or practical knowledge for this! This looks like a fun and challenging project :T

·
Registered
44 Posts
Crossover points are also affected by the steepness of the filter. You might be able to get much lower 12DB crossover by the documentation allows you to go down to 800Hz. The woofer you chose is small and cone breakup is going to be fairly high (above 1000Hz ).

Start to look at component cost for the passive parts. Level matching and phase response are the hardest to deal with until you have decide on the size and shape of box.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4