Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need a sub. I started looking around, and came to the conclusion that an eD A2-300 would fit the bill. However, since I live in Canada, the cost went from $350 USD to $515 CDN (after shipping etc.). The same went for other subs (HSU, SVS, BIC). I did not like the idea of paying 150-200% of the US price, so I started looking into DIY kits.

I know nothing about this, I've never done anything similar before, and I'm not exactly "handy" so treat me like a total newbie.

With $400 CDN, can I get a kit (or parts) that will outperform (or be on-par with) the A2-300?
Size is not an issue, and looks are not an issue. The only issues are cost and performance. The primary use will be movies/tv followed by music, about a 70-30 split.

I've looked at the following:
Quartet10 - $365 shipped + materials + labour/time
Quartet12 - $474 shipped + materials + labour/time
MJ-18M, 2 4" flared ports, and BASH300 - $491 shipped + materials + labour/time

I'd only consider the ones going over my budget if they are *better* than an A2-300. I've looked at graphs, and they seem better, but like I said, I am a newbie. Given that this would be my first DIY project, and my requirements above, what parts/kits would you recommend? I'm not "married" to any option I have right now, so I'm considering everything. The only thing is, IB = not an option.

I'd appreciate any suggestions, advice, and recommendations.

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
Do you have any wood working experience? Do you have the tools to make accurate cuts in MDF? If building a box isn't a problem for you then $450 would get you an excellent sub for the money.

The MJ-18M in 12 cu.ft. net volume tuned to 20 hz with three 4" flared ports and a Bash 300 watt amp would out perform a A2-300 without question. The sub is $175 shipping included and get the amp and ports from CSS.

mj18m.JPG

·
Registered
38 Posts