Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Fellas,

I've been planning my system in my head, and before I buy anything I want to make sure I'm on the right track. My contractor is just finishing the framing. Also, my wife wants in-walls. I can get away with a sub in the room, but that's about it. This is what I have in mind. Is there anything that doesn't seem right? Go easy, I'm a noob! :bigsmile:

46-50" LCD above fireplace(yes, I know there are concerns here)
Episode A4-series in-walls for fronts and rears
Episode A4-series in-wall center channel
SVS PB-10 subwoofer(maybe behind the chair in the corner)
Yamaha Rx-v661 7.1(is there a 5.1 version of this?) in closet over by the dining room
blu-ray(haven't picked one yet) in the same closet
All components RF controlled

Are there items here that don't jive?

·
Registered
538 Posts
The only thing I could suggest is using in-ceiling speakers a few feet behind the couch. The wall that your piano is on might be a little far away from the couch for rear surrounds. Yamaha now sells the RX-V663, which addes support for Dolby True HD and DTSMA, so get that instead of the 661. You can set most any 7.1 receiver for a 5.1 configuration, so I wouldn't worry about that. If you wanted, you could even use the extra two channels for presence speakers or a different zone. Overall, it looks like you'll have a nice livingroom setup. Have fun!!

·
Registered
3,251 Posts
... I can get away with a sub in the room, but that's about it. This is what I have in mind. Is there anything that doesn't seem right? Go easy, I'm a noob! :bigsmile:
To bad your wife doesn't aprove anything besides in walls ... can you do some :kiss: to change her mind :bigsmile: