Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My fronts are Warfdales and I would like to wall mount the two surrounds. The sofa is against the wall I would mount on so they need to be forward and side firing I would think? Driving them will be a Denon 2808 in a 15X26 room.
Thanks

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
I guess what I mean is a good kit or plan for a set of rears. I think DYI is the way to go as it is a unique application and that is one of the things DYI is all about. I am thinking it would have a forward driver and a side-firing driver dedicated to right and left as the sofa is on the 15ft. wall. 110-Watt amp. Audyssey correction,matching Mirage subs on front. A cabinet with a flat front with a 30 to 45% cut on each side with drivers that have a center mounted tweeter small and efficient. Just my thoughts, and I have never built a speaker before so maybe I am way off base? Let me know.
Front and center channel specs.
Nominal impedance 6 ohm (suitable for 8 ohm amplifier)
Sensitivity (for 2.83v at 1m) 90dB
Frequency range at -6dB: 75Hz to 29kHz
Crossover frequencies at 2kHz and 7kHz
They have a rear loaded tweeter, and a rear loaded mid horn, with Dual 6.5” polycarbonate laminate bass drivers, all in each of the 3 cabinets.
Your input is as always appreciated.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thats a good looking speaker! It's close to the shape of what I had in mind. I caught your building thread and will study it. Thanks.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I saw these and believe I have found the style and form :help:shape I want. Anyone with any good ideas of where I should start in order to build a set?

QS8 v2 Surround Speakers

Specs QS8
Enclosure: Acoustic Suspension
Max Amp Power: 400 Watts
Min Amp Power: 10 Watts
Freq Resp +/-3dB (Hz): 95 - 22 kHz
Freq Resp +3dB- 9dB (Hz): 65 - 22 kHz
Impedance (Ohms): 6 Ohms
SPL in Room1w/1m(dB): 95 dB