Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am confused with the difference between Acoustic Treatment and Noise Curve. If I want to make my room flat, for example 20dB, do we measure it with Acoustic Treatment or Noise Curve? Are they same? Please help. I'm not an expert and newbie. Thanks before.

Budhi

·
Registered
486 Posts
Acoustic treatments (physical objects) are used to treat things like reflection points and absorb other unwanted characteristics that are impacted by a room. Eq's are applied (electronically) to "noise curves" when acoustic treatments can not or don't totally fix an audible issue with a "noise curve". For example, very low frequencies which would require very very large acoustic treatments that cannot be placed in a room.

Hope that is clear as mud. :huh:

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Does it mean if I want my room get 20 dB with acoustic treatments = Noise Rating Curves 20 dB?

·
Registered
34 Posts
NR curves are used when we are talking about background noise in studios or control rooms for example. This noise may come from HVAC and curves follow ears sensitivity. They are used as a design criterion. Acoustic treatment is related to background noise in a way that absorption can lower rooms decay time and this way background noise, but it's effect is quite minimal.

·
Premium Member
1,562 Posts
20 dB is very low, is this a listening room, or studio, or anechoic chamber? :)