Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
The past 5 subs that I've built have been powered with plate amps that have a built in subsonic filter. My next build, starting next week, will be a pair of Mach 5 Audio IXL 18.4.s with each having a 12 cubic foot box tuned to 16.5 hz. For power I'm considering either an EP2500 or a pair of Elemental Designs 550 watt plate amps. Both the EP2500 and the ED 550 plate amps do not have a subsonic filter. I found an add on subsonic filter from Creative Sound Solutions called the Reckhorn B-1.
http://creativesound.ca/details.php?model=B-1
More information on it can be found here.
http://www.reckhorn.com/index.php?ln=en&prod=b1
For 80 dollars it appears to be a cost effective solution. I am curious if anyone has tried this unit.

·
Registered
306 Posts
Im no expert, but since you are building a LLT tuned already subsonic, why would you wanna filter it?

One of the purposes of an LLT is to reach subsonic. Seems a little counter productive if you ask me.

Also you need to remember that there is a steep roll off int he drivers response once you go below the tuned freq as the driver and the port fight for output.

If you are looking to get the boost function, i would suggest the BFD as an EQ and do what ever you're heart desires from there. same price and much more configurable.

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I'm not after the boost function. My concern is protecting the driver below the tuning frequency. My box size and tuning frequency is close to what's recommended by the manufacturer. I was under the impression that LLT's were tuned alot lower, like 12hz. After reading about pro amps with no subsonic filter blowing up subs, my thinking is some protection would be worth while. Any comments would be appreciated.

·
Elite Shackster
1,468 Posts