Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to the shack but like what I see here. My basement is currently at the end of prewire stage, and I want to choose my equipment so that I can be ready to Roll as soon as construction is done. This weekend I scored a great deal on 2 Paradigm Sub 12's and I wanted some feedback on the rest of the system. I am leaning towards Paradigm Monitor 11, CC390, ADP390 to round out the 5.2. Onkyo 3007,5007, or 808 receiver with a QSC RMX 1450 to power the towers (only 3 ch powered from Onkyo). PS3 for Bluray. Optoma Hd20 or Pan Pt4000 projector. 106-120" screen diy or buy motorized. 12 x 20 theatre in awkward shape 650 sqft open room. Comments welcome.
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Premium Member
8,112 Posts
Hello,
Paradigm makes wonderful Speakers and if you can get them discounted all the better. In truth, Paradigm's are rarely available discounted. I am also quite fond of PSB Speakers and there are great deals on the Image Series at DMC-Electronics.Com and Saturday Audio.

As to an AVR, I just picked up a TX-NR3007 last Thursday and am quite happy with it. If you end up going with Monitor 11'a, you really might want to go with the 3007 or 5007 as they both offer Bridged Operation for the Front Channels while still supporting a 7.2 Setup.
Though with your Amplifier, I suppose the Bridged Operation is not an issue.
Cheers,
JJ

·
Registered
4,418 Posts
Your speaker package is exactly what i've got other then i'm also using 11's for the rear and the ADP's for side surround. I couldn't be happier with them as they are super easy to drive and sound awesome, the price point at which they are at now is the kicker, it seems only 2 years ago they were a few hundred dollers less then they are now but still a fantastic deal and a great warrenty, like JJ said (though tuff) if you can find them discounted you'd be sitting even better.:clap: