Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So on an impulse buy I purchased one of the 160v.2 that I'm sure you've heard was on sale. I am a rookie and still learning (but I am learning) so I kinda made a mistake. I found that you can only wire these DVC subs in 2 or 8 ohm. I went to purchase a second this morn so I could wire 4 ohm and they were sold out. *sniff* *sniff*

So I need a new amp either way. I need some advice on an amp to power what I'm hoping will be a beast. (Be a step up from the Fosgate driven system I built as my HT sub maiden voyage anyway.) I can't seem to find one that will suit the ohm rating needed.

Money is tight at the moment. My company is experience a extreme slow down due to the economy, and our work hours have been cut. I'm hoping it's not too expensive. Any ideas?

Thanks guys,
Chase Setters

·
Registered
393 Posts
I assume you have an amp that's not rated for a 2 Ohm load? You can just run it 8 Ohm, you won't get all the power you might want, but it will work. That will give you time to find another driver somewhere, or time to shop for the amp you want.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
tenzip,
My current amp is a BASH 500w from parts-express. At 8ohm I don't think it will give sufficient power. But, yes it will probably run it until I can find a suitable amp. Thanks for the suggestion.

Mike P.,
I was going to follow the plans you suggested on the thread a couple days ago for the gentlemen who had 2 of these subs. I was thinking 11 ft^3 downfiring. "box tuned to 20 hz. Porting would be either three 4 inch ports or one 6 inch port." I'm thinking a column style box.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yes sir it is. But it's not 2 ohm stable. At 8 ohm it will only push 275-300 watts to a driver that has a recommended RMS of 600w. Thats not enough right? If I could get another eD 160v.2 D4 and wire it 4 ohm I wouldn't worry so much.

·
Premium Member