Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts
K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I recently purchased a Panny PZ85 and I wanted to go for a new home theater.

I am a total beginner so please bear with me if I sound so.

1. Interested in 60% movies, 20% each for gaming (on XBOX 360, later PS3) and music.
2. I have a 10ft X 10ft X 8ft room. I stay in a rented accommodation. So this may change later if I move out.
3. I have a budget of 500 GBP each for receiver, front speakers/center speaker and a sub. I want to go for front speakers, center speaker and a sub now. I will go for surround speakers later. If the speakers are very good, I dont mind stretching my budget by an additional 100-150 GBP.
4. Sources - XBOX 360, PS3 (later), SKY + HD, DVD player, PC connection.
5. I would like my setup to be "future proof". Like I said before, my accommodation is probably going to change. If I move into a bigger place, I do not want my setup to be inadequate.
6. I prefer quality over quantity! (duh!) :)

Budget wise following are the options I have read about. However, I need to audition them yet. Let me know if I'm in the right direction.
1. Sub - BK Monolith DF
2. Receivers - TXSR 606/706/806
3. Front + Center Speakers - MA BR6, B&W 684/685, XTZ 99.36/99.26
4. Any other recommendations are welcome.

Questions -
1. What should I keep in mind before I buy a receiver? Which of the options above for receiver would you recommend and why?
2. What is your suggestion on the possible combination of receiver + sub + front/center from the choices above?
3. Any other recommendations that I need to audition?
4. I would like to reiterate that I want my setup to be "future proof". I will not be looking to upgrade this setup for the next 4-5 years atleast. I will eventually add 2 surrounds if I choose to go for 5.1 or 4 surrounds for 7.1.