Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this subject - would very much appreciate some advice.
Some history: I came across "ARC System 2", which has received some good reviews, but others claim that Acourate, Dirac, and Audiolense are so much better (interesting, since some Stereophile reviewers like Audyssey a lot, and the ARC System uses Audyssey). Is the ARC System really that much inferior?
Then I also came across REW, which I think can generate correction "filters". I'm trying to figure out if there is some reliable DIY way to get these filters into a music player, such as Foobar, Mediamonkey, or JRiver, as an alternative to the above off the shelf products.
I came across "Convolver - a convolution plug-in" that I think can use REW filters, but it had a comment "It may be possible to get ConvolverFilter or ConvolverWrapper to work with WinAmp…". So it's not clear if this will work - if it does work in Winamp it will most likely also work in Mediamonkey or Foobar, or JRiver. I think I also need some more software, such as "DRC" by d.sbragion. But this is appears to be very complex and hard to use, with little or no support.
Have any folks on this forum been able to get a DIY approach to work? Your feedback will be much appreciated.

·
Premium Member
1,400 Posts
Yes, it's quite easy ( & effective ) to use REW ( once familiar with it ) to create EQ correction filters ( for each individual speaker of a stereo pair ) exported as a "dual-mono" stereo Wave file that is then convolved within jRiver ( for instance ) .

I recommend that you devote some time to learning REW ( especially it's auto-EQ module ) & then studying what others have done with convolution .

A forum search for the word convolution is a good start .

Here's a link to a very nice & effective GUI created by Alan Jordan ( made from the original DRC that is so hard for most to handle ) .