Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to this hobby and as a result - even though I've spent a few days reading on topic, some things are still not quite "clear" to me.

Lets look at the following setup. Low budget build. 50%HT 50% music. Dayton Audio SD315A-88 12" driver and Yung SD200-6 200W Class D Subwoofer Amp Module with 6 dB @ 35 Hz ... or Yung 100w no boost.

First question - boost or no boost?

Max box size - 2.37 ft^3 (16" inside cube. - minus driver/vent).

Here's a couple of designs I've came up with.
Orange - Tuning freq 25Hz. f3 at 37.4Hz
Green - Tuning freq 31.01Hz. f3 at 34.33Hz

As far as I understand, I should aim at a tuning freq <30 - am I right?
What about f3? Should I keep it as low as possible?
Air velocity should be <25 m/s or is it <20 ?
SPL? What to look for?

And finally... which one is better - Orange or Green? Or maybe there's better option?

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
The Yung 100 watt with no boost is your only option with this driver. With it's limited Xmax of 7 mm it can't handle any amount of boost. Here's the project file for it, save it to the Projects folder in WinISD.

View attachment The kehl Project.wpr

Are you wanting a sub for music, HT, or both? What is your budget for a driver and an amp?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks Mike! I've looked at your design - the port length is a bit longer that I can fit in 16" (inside size) box.
As far as amp goes - no boost it is than. Thank you. Didn't even think about boost driving Xmax over.

It is for both HT and music. 50-50 I'd say. The budget is 200 max. But the main goal atm is to learn how to design a better box. That's why so many questions. :)

For example - on Air Velocity. In some places they say to keep it under 5% of speed of sound. In some - 10%. Which one is it? Will I hear shuffling above 5% or 10%? Should I look at it at peak or RMS?