Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone ever tried a 414 with REW? I have a B-ULS (ultra linear series) that's just been calibrated, so I'm wondering.....

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
You would need a calibration file dedicated for that mic. otherwise you will get undesirable readings.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You would need a calibration file dedicated for that mic. otherwise you will get undesirable readings.
Thank you for the reply! I have a printout from AKG. Maybe I can get a file from them.
I know that you can calibrate REW to your sound card. Is there a way to make a calibration file
if I can't get one?

Thx.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
I have little knowledge on how to make the calibration file but if you have the sheet on the AKG you should be able to make one, hopefully someone with more knowledge on that side of things will chime in soon.
calibrating the sound cars is another step that must be done keep the mic out of the loop for that procedure. they are two different things all together dont get them confused.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have little knowledge on how to make the calibration file but if you have the sheet on the AKG you should be able to make one, hopefully someone with more knowledge on that side of things will chime in soon.
calibrating the sound cars is another step that must be done keep the mic out of the loop for that procedure. they are two different things all together dont get them confused.
Thanks for the reply. Even though I'd never buy a LDC mic for an RTA, the 414 B-ULS seems
like it would be a good option (since I own one), so I'd like to try.

I'm going to start toying with REW with my RS SPL meter and my soundcard line in.
Are those RS meter reading accurate?

Thx

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
The RS meter is good for readings between 15Hz up to about 6kHz above that it falls off quite poorly.

·