Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I seem to do far too often, I thought I would document my video calibration process and give some feedback on the Video Calibration series from Michael Chen as I go along.

So, I am using Calman v4 (4.6.5 to be exact) with an i1 Display Pro Retail colorimeter. I am calibrating a Panasonic AE-7000U projector - the lamp run time is 250 hours. As a starting off point, I thought I would snap a few screenshots for comparison sake:

·
Premium Member
7,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I set up the meter on my tripod about 2 feet in front of the screen facing the projector:

As per Mech's fine writeup on the calibration process, I have left the diffuser on as the meter is pointing toward the projector. I am in the process of letting the projector warm up for a bit before I fully jump into the process.

·
Premium Member
7,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
As I am new to this yet, CalMan still gives me the walk through workflow.

So, first thing is the Meter profile. For me, it found the meter as I had plugged it in prior to opening CalMan. I needed to change the mode to Front Projector UHP for the AE-7000U (verified this with Mech and Joel from SpectralCal) and I am using the Get Gray disc provided by SpectralCal.

There was no initialization needed for this meter.

I have Michael's video running and am also following Mech's guide. At this point, I am still in the setup phase so I am pretty much just using Mech's guide.

·
Premium Member
7,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I got all the pre-calibrated readings. One thing I could not figure out how to do was to switch between grayscale settings. What I ended up doing was turning on the prompt that tells you specifically which patterns it wants before it takes the reading and then I hit continuous play.