Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

My name is Dru and I'm a newbie here. Recently I got my preliminary home theater setup going and the screen is up and running with this etup:

140" x 79" 16:9 Screen made from Blackout cloth.
Optoma HD65
Blu ray capabilities
5.0 PSB Image Series Setup (Image 4T, 8C, & 1B)
Marantz SR84000 Receiver

The basement room is approx. 28' L x 14.5' W x 8.5' H with a solid ceiling. The room is not enclosed and the attached hallway leads to other rooms into the basement.

The sub I'm going to use is the one I made by myself couple years ago according to a design I found on Diyaudio. It is a massive 2'x2'x2' downfiring-ported-self powered (PE 250W Plate Amp) with a 12" Ascendant Audio Atlas driver. I know everyone here prefers multiple subs but I don't want to part away with this sub since it not only sounds good but I put every last drop of my sweat building it.

For disclosure, this is my first HT and I have never listened to a properly set up HT where all the gains, responses, etc. were matched and corrected. I can definitely hear "boominess" from the speakers, especially the front floor standers and the center channel. I haven't even hooked up the sub yet since it's almost 100 lbs. and moving it downstairs with my bad leg is going to be hard (recently moved into this house and hurt my Achilles in the process). So I think the sub will only add to the "boominess". Bass traps are def. in order so I will get to building them very soon.