Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently started with REW and before I make any changes to the room and speakers, I am still new to this and would like some interpretation from these graphs, mainly from the graph with no smoothing and how it compares to the other graphs.

The added detail at the higher frequencies with no smoothing, does this indicate cancellations from the first reflection? Just trying to understand these graphs more.

This was taken with the UMM-6 pointed up in the sweet spot of the speakers, about 8' back. The reason I'm asking is while the recordings sound good, I feel there is a slight lack in treble despite being a fairly neutral setup. Just a slight drop and it's not my aging ears..:sarcastic:

Attachments

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
Hi initially the responses look very good, but look closer and the scaling is wrong please re-post with these settings reading this link http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/rew-forum/934-please-read-posting-graph.html

Generally 1/6th smoothing (pretty much what the ear hears) or 12th smoothing is sufficient. For the bass region (0 - 300hz) it is good to look at No Smoothing but the above is fine as well.

Before you re-post please take a measurement of each speaker Left & Right individually, then combined and re-post with the correct scaling and smoothing.

You can also post the .mdat file.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Looks like I have a different version from the one in the link but I believe the graph is set correctly now. I used main speakers to check levels and record the measurement as I do not have a sub running at the moment.

Edited to add that this was the original measurements, I have not measured each speaker yet.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
9,247 Posts

The added detail at the higher frequencies with no smoothing, does this indicate cancellations from the first reflection?