Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
922 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have a link to affordable Anamorphic Projection lenses ? I am interested in this format for my HT that I will be building in the next year. I am new to PJ's as well. I will probably get something like the sony VPL-HW55ES or VPL-HW40ES. Do I need a lens for these ? I will only be watching movies or TV shows on Blue ray etc. I do not watch sports.

Going into the 2.35 CIH seems to be a niche but is this what I would want if I were to be mostly watching movies?

·
Banned
4,557 Posts
That's a good screen size to opt for if you're looking for a movie-centric set-up. You do not necessarily need an anamorphic lens... For instance I run a JVC projector that has a zoom feature that fits a 2.40:1 image to a CinemaScope screen. Panasonic offers a similar feature (as do several other brands). Both projectors can auto-zoom to make it work (sometimes necessitating a few tweaks to focus, etc).

One thing to remember, projectors display a 2.40:1 image much like a TV does (with black bars on the top and bottom. You'll want to make sure that you buy a screen with a black surround/ edge that will help to soak up spill-over. There are some great sources... Review sites such as projector central... That can help you sift through the available models. Definitely give JVC a fair shake... Phenomenal picture quality!

Also, if you're considering a projector, and have a dedicated space, definitely consider making the room as light controlled as possible... Black/dark walls go a long way to help keep light reflecting Back on the screen.

·
Registered
922 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
im going to have no windows and be able to paint the room black... black ceiling... I may throw in some really dark reds... I will check out the JVC. I am nost sold on anything just yet.

·
Registered
141 Posts