Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok here's a graph that I got from my room's response. now my question is, what do i do? Did I do the test correctly? Sorry this is my first time using REW. (but no stranger to home audio)( I did a full-range sweep for as long as I could set REW for.)

Attachments

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Looks fine, as long as you loaded the meter calibration file for your specific case, and also did a soundcard calibration.

A couple of points.

For subwoofers always use the standard Vertical graph axis of (45dB - 105dB) and the Horizontal graph axis of (15Hz - 200Hz) using the Graph Limits button in the top right corner of REW.

For full range (as yours is) use the standard Vertical graph axis of (45dB - 105dB) and the Horizontal graph axis of (15Hz - upper limits you desire, i.e 20KHZ - certainly no higher than your soundcard can extend).
For full range enable smoothing to eliminate the comb filtering. Use a 1/3 octave smoothing.

brucek

I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I'll load up another instance later on and fiddle a bit more with it. I have to say though, that my reciever only has very limited adjustments as far as frequency goes. For instance i want to boost the 1-2k region a bit, but i have to choose between 400hz and 6k...are there 5 channel eq's that one can buy?

It does sound REALLY good right now, though!

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Hard to tell from the poor scaling that you're using, but I'd be mostly concerned about the peak at 70Hz.

Also be sure to set a target level of 75dBSPL for your measurements. You're way too high at 90dB.

brucek

I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
every time i'm setting the spl up, it says "level is too low" so i keep raising it. i'm certain im doing something incorrect though.. Also, the peak is at 80 :)

·
Registered
486 Posts
every time i'm setting the spl up, it says "level is too low" so i keep raising it.