Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Looking at either a QSC RMX 1850HD or a QSC RMX 1450 to power my one Mal-X sub in a 16cf box tuned to 15hz.

Are these amps powerful enough and does anyone have experience with either of these amp or QSC in general. I have used crown but wanted to try something new. :praying:

Is there a better option besides the China Knockoff "Behringer"? I have moral issues with the knockoff. :)

Matt

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Ive used both Crown and QSC and they are both workhorses, you would have no issue using either of them. I personally have a Samson amp and its worked flawlessly And I am pushing it hard as I have it bridged and its only supposed to have an 8ohm load when bridged but Ive been driving a 4ohm load for two years without a problem.
Lots of members here use Behringer amps and also like them.

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks!!! That was exactly the kind of feedback I was hoping for. I have never heard of a Samson Servo 4120 amp. Nice equipment list!!

Matt

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks tcarcio, I was thinking of the Behringer but I have moral issues with Behringer. I cannot bring myself to support a company that rips off another companies design. But that is just me. So, I was looking for an alternative to the Behringer.

Matt

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Is a QSC PLX 1602 enough power for a mal-x. Those seem to be a little cheaper. Although I do like the class H design of the 1850HD. What does a man do. :bigsmile:

Matt

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
The Samson 4120 is an older 4 channel amp (about 5 years) but has both line and XLR inputs and outputs I would look for the Samson SX series of amps if your looking to drive a subwoofer.

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Discussion Starter #9