Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 131 Posts

·
Registered
507 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a proud owner (2 yrs.) of the VSX-816k, it's the first receiver I've owned and love it. I'm starting to get the upgrade itch:help: and would like to here from other Pio owners. I have a few questions if you don't mind and feel free to add more info.

1. What model do you have?

2. What are your likes/dis-likes of your receiver?

3. How many Pio receivers have you owned and have you ever owned different brands before going to Pioneer?

Thanks to all that reply,
hyghwayman

P.S. Here is a link to a review I did on the VSX-816k over at Epinions.com

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Hi Don, I have the Elite VSX-81TXV and I love it. I am not an expert by any stretch but when I decided to move into something more up to date I looked at alot of different recievers in my price range of 6 to 8 hundred. I have never owned a Pioneer reciever before but I have owned many products made by them such as car audio and home cd players and was never dissapointed. I auditioned Sony,Onkyo,and a few more in that price range and I just liked the sound I got from the Pioneer and also I thought build quality was excellent. The connectivity is very good and this model had everything I was looking for. I use it in my HTR and have it set up as a 7.1 system with a set of Cambridge Soundworks Towers, 4 dipole,bipole,monopole surrounds also by CS and a VR-12 Boston acoustics center. I love that you can store up to 6 different audio settings so I have choices when I am changing from music to movies. I have never had to push the reciever because it has plenty of head room and the auto cal works well, although I do my share of tweeking. I read alot of reviews on the Elite recievers and they do review well and they look great too. I have owned a few different components such as Sherwood Newcastle and a few others and they were all very good but for the money I think the Elite's are a go