I don't think that would happen, I think that should only happen if they change their emails, it would put their accounts in awaiting user confirmation until they have received an email in their inbox to confirm that they have indeed changed their email. But if that's the case... should we temporarily set up the usergroup: user awaiting confirmation to self-promote in 24/48 hours?Creating a password using the new system might seem daunting and inconvenient, but it's easy to still create a password that's easy to remember.
I am concerned that the reset is causing old members to lose posting privileges. That's not good. If that's happening, please PM me ASAP.
I know this caught all of us by surprise, but hang in there and give it a chance.