Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Which is best to use and why? Or should I use both? Running the set up and then tweking with the meter? Are there some good instructions to follow on the internet for setting this up.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Hi, this question dovetails into my own question. I don't understand all the terminology you just used in the post above. I had read on another post somewhere that although the automatic audyssey (sp?) mic and process that comes with the Onkyo 6100 HTIB does a decent job, an SPL meter was recommended to fine tune the settings.

I'm a complete noob to all this discussion, but I do have a reasonably discerning ear and so want the best I can get out of my equipment, though I know it's not a megabucks premium system. I'll be using it exclusively for my Panasonic 50" plasma set and blu ray player, both have HDMI connects as does the Onkyo system, so what I'm wanting to know is, has anybody posted in this forum a basic "here's how to use an SPL meter" for my kind of setup, or do you have some info you could pass along to help us beginners out?

Appreciate any help you can give, many thanks. :hail:

Jim

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
The SPL meter is a tool that gives you more accurate decibel (db's) readings however that said the receivers auto calibration should get the readings fairly close if you followed the instructions properly (most do not) and automatically sets the volume on each channel to 75db so when playing movies at 0 on your volume control you will have what is known as "reference levels".

If your thinking that the levels are not correct the you must tweek the speaker level adjustments in the user menu and use your own SPL meter to set these at 75db. Using the SPL meter also requires you to know where to place the meter and how to orient the mic of the SPL meter so you get correct readings.

·
Registered
11 Posts