Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
SpeakerHobby.com is proud to announce the distributorship of Audience's new A3 "true" full range loudspeaker driver!

Audience is the company that builds the AuriCap high end capacitors and have other lines of fine audio products as well.

I met the owner and we talked about making this driver they use in their speaker systems available to the DIY market.

Do you want to build a full range loudspeaker without a crossover? Then this is the driver to use!

Crossovers seem to be one of the DIY'ers most difficult task to handle when building a 2, 3, or 4 way system. I know this first hand because I've been building loudspeakers for over 14 years. The lack of a crossover eliminates the resistance of the components used in the crossovers and potential mistakes in the crossover's design. This allows the drivers to perform to their full potential.

The A3 3" driver has a usable xmax of 12 mm p-p and a mechanical xmax of 15. This is one of the most versatile drivers available to date. Presently being offered with a 16 ohm voice coil, you will parallel two drivers for an 8 ohm load. You can use a pair of these drivers for your home theater center, side surrounds, and center back speakers. Build them into your wall between the studs, in the ceilings, or even install a pair of them in the wall cavities on each side of your boat's main salon or staterooms!

Series and parallel the drivers to get the desired ohms you want to present to your amplifier and simply choose how large you want to build yours; 4, 8, 16 or 24 driver line arrays!