Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Torn between the Denon 3310 and the Onkyo 876.

Critical to me is that they work with my home automation system and these two are capable.

I am also interested in HDMI upconversion as I only have one cabling run to my televisions so whatever I choose will have to take SD & Component HD out of my cable box & DVD player and upconvert appropriately.

I have read some negative reviews on the delay time associated with switching video inputs on the 876. While that doesn't sound ideal if it is still somewhat fast I can live with it. Also usually the amplifier on the Onkyo gets a bit more credit for having headroom. There are no Onk dealers local to me and all of the Denon ones are big box stores so doing a real comparison or listen is a joke.

Considering I have no experience with the video side of things I wanted to ask if that alone was reason enough to grab the Denon.

The receiver will be used temporarily with some Def Tech BP8's and a SS Rlp 12" with a BFD, but the speakers themselves will also get replaced with some DIY fun in the next year.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
I do not know what the Denon uses but the Onkyo has the HQV Reon chip and is regarded to be the best for video processing. The Onkyo also has a very high quality amplification section and the power supply is extremely good.
My personal choice is go with the 876.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Interesting, just did now. I knew a new series was coming and truthfully hoped that it would lower the price of the current :)

I don't need the extra functions as the unit will be sitting in the same rack as my PC and Squeezebox, but I can surely see how that will fit a market niche nicely. Between the smaller amps and the Faroudja chip I think the 876 or ABT 2010 in the 3310 are probably better fits for my need.

My needs are:
1) Connect with CQC home automation software for control