Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
348 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my second SVS PB13-Ultra and I'm about to embark on the task of balancing and equalizing them in my room. I've read a lot of posts in here and tried to soak up as much information as I can. I have a plan in my head, but I'm a newbie and want to make sure I'm going about this the right way so I don't waste a lot of time going down the wrong road. You guys have so much more knowledge than me, so I want your opinion of my plan.
First the layout. My main listening position is dead middle at the back of the room. The subs are in opposite back corners of the room facing the middle. They are equadistant to the main listening position (PS. this is the only location they fit and stacking is not in the WAF realm).
The first thing I was going to do is use REW and my BFD 1124 and create a filter for each sub to get a flat response independantly.
Next, with the BFD filters in place, set my AVR volume to 0.0 with sub trim at +1 and use a SPL meter to get the subs individually balanced with the mains at 75 dbs. At this point using the subs' gain control to acheive the desired SPL.
Once that's done run both subs and adjust the trim level down so that combined they read 75 dbs. Now use REW and the BFD to equalize the combination of the two.
I like to create a reference curve for movies and a house curve for music. I'm also told that the phase for the subs can be left at 0 since they are equadistant from the main listening position. Jack from SVS got me on track on how to balance the subs with each other. I just want to make sure the whole procedure makes sense. I would appreciate any opions on something I might be doing wrong or missing.

·
Elite Shackster
7,142 Posts