Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to using REW (and acoustic measurements all together...). I've already watched the GIK YouTube guide and read parts of the manual, but I still have some questions left.

Perhaps I first need to explain my intentions.
I've always wanted a home cinema and I saw my chance when we started building our own house a few years ago. I have a my computer room (4m by 5m20) above the garage which is also equipped with my home theater stuff.
I'm very happy with the result, but I'm aware acoustically I'm not getting the best result. Other than the couch there's nothing in the room that can absorb soundwaves. It's all hard and flat surfaces, so basically I'm watching my movies is an echo chamber. I'd like to improve that with a minimum of investment. I'm not that much of an audiophile that I has to be perfect. I'm already happy with "very good", or a lot better than what I have now anyway.

For starters I've bought a MiniDSP UMIK-1 mic.
The next DIY project would be replacing the 2 lights on the ceiling by 1m x 60cm x 10cm Rockwool panels with LED strips on top for indirect lighting.
Depending on how I manage with that first project, I'll see how I'll continue from there. I know I'll already need to convince my wife for the 2 panels on the ceiling, and I imagine adding even more stuff could result in some arguments ;-)

The first thing I did this week was setting the speaker levels to 75dB correctly. 2 years ago I did that with an app on my smartphone, so that was nowhere accurate. :sad:

So, I had some newbie questions, right? :)
* do I need to point the mic forward to the front speakers, or point it vertically?
* for inside use that wind foam thingy on the UMIK isn't required, right?
* do I measure all speakers at the same time, or do I need to unplug all but one?