Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm brand new to this and having some problems. I would like to measure the response from my Definitive Technologies Trinity subwoofer with an 80hz crossover. I also own BP3000TL's, which is giving me some problems. I would love to use them both at full range, but at times I notice that I'm having cancellations and it hurts the response, and at times it seems to help the bass response when I don't have the 3000's crossed over. Confusing, at least for me. I'm sure it has something to do with standing waves, but I can only be subjective at this point. Which is why I choose to download REW. I have a digital radio shack meter and I also have an ECM8000 behringer mic, but I don't have the mixer to connect between the soundcard and the MIC, so I'm going to use the RS mic for now. The sound card is the cheap soundblaster USB external.

On to my problems. I first posted about getting an inverted perfect response, which I know couldn't be right. I figured out by reading I didn't calibrate my soundcard. So I've did that, or attempted to, but still no luck. Wayne asked me to start this new forum, so here it is. Any help is greatly appreciated to help my obsession with this.

Thank you,

Jason:bigsmile:

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
I would love to use them both at full range
A poor idea. Bass management works, and it should be used. It passes frequencies that cause modal resonances (resulting in peaks and dips) to a subwoofer. The subwoofer can be moved to an optimum position to get a smooth response. Then the subwoofer can be equalized with a parametric equalizer to remove any remaining peaks.

Full range is just asking for trouble.

I have a digital radio shack meter and I also have an ECM8000 behringer mic, but I don't have the mixer to connect between the soundcard and the MIC, so I'm going to use the RS mic for now