Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm curious if anyone else has tried the Behringer SU9920 Sonic Ultramizer in their two channel system.

I've been using one in line with my Behringer DEQ2496 for six months now and I like it, a lot. A/B tests with other listeners have all been in favor of the SU9920 in circuit rather than out. For around $66 brand new this piece seems like a no brainer to me.. especially for middle-aged ears like mine that are starting to lose their ability to hear upper registers. If you already have pro audio gear in your audio chain then you're just a set of XLR patch cords and $66 away from trying an SU9920.

The remainder of my system consists of: Acoustat 2+2 speakers, Acoustat TNT-200 amplifier, Acurus RL-11 preamp, Oppo CDP, Winamp.

·
Registered
316 Posts
I'm curious if anyone else has tried the Behringer SU9920 Sonic Ultramizer in their two channel system.

I've been using one in line with my Behringer DEQ2496 for six months now and I like it, a lot. A/B tests with other listeners have all been in favor of the SU9920 in circuit rather than out. For around $66 brand new this piece seems like a no brainer to me.. especially for middle-aged ears like mine that are starting to lose their ability to hear upper registers. If you already have pro audio gear in your audio chain then you're just a set of XLR patch cords and $66 away from trying an SU9920.

The remainder of my system consists of: Acoustat 2+2 speakers, Acoustat TNT-200 amplifier, Acurus RL-11 preamp, Oppo CDP, Winamp.
I'd like to analyze the waveform modification it supposedly introduces. I'll tell you, with the lack of detail of what 'exactly' it's supposed to do, and the silly sounding functions, I suspect it's Behringer's version of the 'do nothing' knob that engineers have traditionally used in studios to quell people who want just a little something 'extra'. Have you measured/analyzed the device?

-Chris

·