Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I just signed up after reading a bit on this site and I think I will enjoy your company very much.

I am not an expert but not a complete novice, however it has been years since I upgraded my AV system. During this time, I have casually read some about AV equipment, but have not studied it. Now I need to upgrade my existing system.

One of the primary things I hope to glean from your expertise and advice is how to upgrade what I already have.

I do not know if I should spread this out, but here goes a thumbnail of what I am trying to do.

I just bought a new home and have some restrictions on TV size due to built in cabinets. It is limiting my TV size to 55" and I have an older 61".

I currently have a system consisting of Definitive Technology BP20 Towers, DT Center, DT Rear and a B&K AVR 507 receiver. I have had this system for quite a while and now am having some problems with the new technologies (4K) that my reveiver is not very compatible with and since they are out of business, I cannot get any upgrades. In addition, this receiver does not support HDMI at all.

So with all of that said, I can sum it up with needing to find the proper receiver for my existing speakers and a new 55" 4K UHD TV.

I have been looking at the Samsung 55" Series 8 LED 4K Ultra HDTV - UN55HU8550 and an Onkyo TX-NR636 receiver.

I don't have any problems with the TV as I own a few Samsung products and am happy with all of them, but I have never owned an Onkyo product. I have read several reviews and they are pretty favorable.

I primarily watch some TV, Movies and listen to a lot of different music from classial to country.

Any advice and/or recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help and thanks for a great site,

Thirdcoast

·
Registered
4 Posts