Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I am new to bass manangement and I got myself one 1124P unit a few months ago. I after reading some of the threads here, Setting up 1124P can be lots of trouble and time consuming. I am thinking of getting a SMS-1 to run my stereo sub .

Can I use one SMS-1 room tune for one sub (one on my left and one on my right side alomost in the middle of the room close by the wall. While the second sub run by BDF ? Can I use SMS-1 to find out the frequency deficient between 20hz - 200hz and then manually set up the filter on the 1124p based on the freq. curve on SMS-1 and let bot bass managment tool work to gether ? So ultimately, both subs can be driven by one of its own EQ unit.

Thanks.:innocent:

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
You're really going to extremes to avoid using REW software so you can set up a BFD properly.

The SMS will not offer the correct bandwidth, frequency and gain parameters that the BFD requires to set up its filters. That's what REW is designed to do.....

Certainly any filtering that the SMS applies to a sub in one location would be useless when applied to a sub in a different location.

brucek

·
Super Moderator
9,271 Posts

Can I use SMS-1 to find out the frequency deficient between 20hz - 200hz and then manually set up the filter on the 1124p based on the freq. curve on SMS-1 and let bot bass managment tool work to gether ?
brucek is right. Do you have REW up and running? If so, take a sweep and run the auto-EQ function using the 1124 as the equalizer of choice under the "Equalizer" tab. The EQ panel will tell you the exact values to enter into the 1124. Nothing could be easier.

Regards,
Wayne

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4