Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this Home theater malarkey... Been building my setup for two or three weeks now, I'm now at the stage of making my screen, the way i see it i could take the easy way out and "just" buy the screen, but i want to tell every one its all my own work ... so to you more experienced.... please forgive me if i sound a little Errr thick !! I'm not really :innocent: I'd like to build my screen from MDF board, now before i paint it do i need to prime it and if so with what, Next I'm confused about the screen top coat..... Do i use the Dulux or B.W also I've been any advice please ! also I've been following some talk about mixing 4 parts s0907-Y70R to i part CTX-4101 Auto Air Aluminum, is this BW ?? :doh::dontknow::dontknow: ...

·
Moderator Emeritus
3,772 Posts
Re: DULUX Exterior Paint vs. Black Widow

Hi Ivor, welcome to the forum! :wave:

Front projection screens can be a confusing topic since there is a fairly large amount of misinformation on the 'net about it. In a dedicated theater (black or very dark colored walls, floor and ceiling) with no room lights on during viewing and using a projector that has very good black levels to begin with, the perfect screen would be a bright flat white. This would produce the brightest image with the widest viewing cone (people viewing from seats close to a side-wall would see the same image brightness as those seated in the middle of the room). The problem is that very few people have dedicated theaters, and very few projectors produce black levels that don't need at least some help. The answer to both problems is using a gray screen.