Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been browsing around here a long time and it seems that BOSE speakers have a bad rap...
My only complaint is that, I haven't seen anything else that can compete with the bose sound/size.

Maybe I am a noob.......I have some pretty small Energy speakers.. but I have heard some friends bose speakers and they make my Energys cringe..... and my energy speakers are probably twice the size.

·
Banned
4,015 Posts
Hi panaman, yes Bose speakers are not Ideal and tbh are expensive for what they are, although they are fairly capable for such small speakers, I owned a pair many years ago and they appealed to me because of there size...it is only when you get to listen to full range speakers do you then realise how much sound you are really losing and I could not settle for anything less now.

If you are looking for a discrete install and WAF comes into it then a lot of people do choose BOSE because of this, although I would be more inclined to go for inwall speakers if I had the choice.

Edit: If you want small then the MKSound Xenon range would be a better choice as it has superior sound to BOSE imo

·
Premium Member
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hey thanks for the tip...
do you know where one would be able to hear a set of MKSound Xenon

·
Premium Member
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
that sux..... there are none close to me

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Have a look at this post here as it explains why Bose and other products like them are not ideal.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
I think the big thing is that Bose cube speakers and ones like them are not full range systems as they have a big hole in the frequency response between about 150Hz and 300Hz and do not go lower than 40Hz with the bass cube.

·
Banned
4,015 Posts
exactly, they can sound impressive for there size but there are better solutions availible with all the frequency range intact...