Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First I want to start off by saying I am new to computer building process.:doh: I have some idea of how the process works though. However, I would this build to be as easy as possible (that a toddler could do it).

I am looking to build a device to store my ever growing dvd and music collection. I own over 2100 movies at the current time and still growing. I would like something that will allow for the movies to be played in 4 different rooms simultaneously (different movies). It should offer the ability to play Netflix, Youtube, Hulu, etc. I would like for it to offer a front loader, but this is not etched in stone. I also need to be able to locked some of the contain as it shouldn't be viewed by my son. Since i will be adding movies I need something that will offer auto rip to the hard drive in the easiest process. Also interested to know if there is a program that offers any upscaling on playback (making a standard definition dvd appear in a more HD quality). I need complete hardware, software, and general dynamics for this system. Any help would be truly appreciated.

·
Registered
969 Posts
The easiest and cheapest solution is to either have a NAS device or build a computer to be used as a NAS that has a built in Bluray player so that you can rip movies onto the box. Then stream that content to other computers or devices with streaming capabilities like most of the new bluray players on the market or something like a Roku XDS.

If you were to build a computer that would output directly to TVs and/or a multi-zone AVR you would spend a lot more money.

Figure $300-$400 for a good NAS with a lot of space on it and $400 for 4 Roku XDS's.