Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are there any links on someone building a curved screen and how to do it. i am looking to build a screen out of blackout cloth and i am toying with the idea of making it a curved screen as i have heard it helps the sharpness of the image at the edge of the screen and also helps the gain. is this correct? the screen size is going to about 115" diagonally and about 17' for the projector... would a screen this size benefit from being curved? :dontknow:

·
Banned
14,914 Posts
Which projector?

Generally curved screens are used for high gain material as they help to eliminate hot spotting. I don't see the issue of sharpness being a problem with newer projectors. Then again, I have no experience with curved screens. :huh:

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Which projector?

Generally curved screens are used for high gain material as they help to eliminate hot spotting. I don't see the issue of sharpness being a problem with newer projectors. Then again, I have no experience with curved screens. :huh:
I haven't bought the projector yet but i am pretty sure its going to be the Panny AE4000. i will be using the projector with some ambient light to watch sporting events and such...

·
Registered
115 Posts
if the screen is to be curved are their changes to the projector that need to happen inorder to prevent the image from being distorted on the screen? or are those settings that the projectors can just 'do' via the menu's and settings

i guess the ? is, do you need a special projector todo this?

·
Moderator Emeritus
3,772 Posts
I would think that most projectors sold within the last 3-4 years would have been designed to project on a flat surface, but that is just an assumption.