Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,

I am in the process of building a pair of 10 inch subwoofers from JL Audio 10W6v2-D4 (400 watts) for my hometheater. I was advised by the JL Audio retailer that these drivers will be fine for application as long as the receiver can handle/accept the relevant ohms of 4 ohms(paralell) or 8 ohms(series). Building the box will be a snap as I am an avid woodworker. But my questions are
A) Can I use these drivers for my intended design and if so do I need any other products for it to play efficiently.
B) If I build a powered box with the same driver are there any recommendations or subwoofer amps that you can recommend that these bad boys can handle.

Thanks for all the feedback
Lammy

L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The box size will be
W - H - D
13.25 x 13 x 11
Sealed

This box will be built from 1 inch MDF
as will be the bracing

Thanks for the reply

·
Registered
651 Posts
hey lammy,

I think you need an external amp for these subs (the receiver can't power these guys)
I think an external amp is better than a plate amp (box will be easier to build)
many people use the Behringer EP2500 for their subwoofers

last question: where in toronto did you get the JL Audio's? how much? who's the dealer over there? (interested to get some for myself)

L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the info, I was checking out the power amps - do you know of any other power amps that would be able to feed these drivers...I take it the type of drivers for this project is usable. I was looking to get the amps in Canada as it would cost abit to prob clear custom... Any ideas?

I found all the authorized dealers on JLAudio site - the link is attached
www.gemsen.com/jlaudiodealers/[/url]
Thanks again

L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
This guy (Chase -owner) gave me the best price of all the others I spk to......

Chase Custom Car Audio
777 Warden Ave # 11