Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I'm a noob that is quite confused about SPL meters. I would like to buy a decent one so I can keep my audio under dangerous levels. I have read that the RadioShack meter does not read past 7khz, or something, which is bad because I think that even 128bit/s mp3's play up to 16khz and much higher with lossless formatting. I am looking for a budget meter that is trustworthy of my hearing!

Furthermore, what weighting should I use if I am trying to find the real spl to prevent hearing loss? I think wikipedia said that some weightings are used to curve with our hearing. Just because frequencies like 20hz and 19khz do not sound very loud I think they are just as damaging so I would not want to make them influence the reading of the meter to a lesser extent compared to midrange.

I like music, especially electronic a lot, and I tried to take great care of my ears; apparently that does not matter though because my brother who has been to concerts and blast 12' subs is unscathed but me rocking 20-30% ipod volume end up with constant ringing in the ears (I notice a trend with stuff like this in my life), very loud for my age too. I sleep to the sound of crickets or rain, and would like for this to be about 50db or less and play 70db music all day. Competing with the ringing depends on both frequency and volume which is why this is very important to me.

6AM and mp3 player is done charging, time for sleep and sorry any shortcomings in this rambling. I will check back tomorrow to clarify anything that doesn't make sense.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Hi and welcome aboard the Shack!

even though the radio shack meter is not as accurate above 7K its still fine for the use that you are planning for. another meter to look at is the Galaxy CM140 its a bit more accurate all around and can be found for around $120.