Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks. Newbie here. I'm not super smart when it comes to home theater systems so please bear with me. I just bought this receiver for $100 locally and now I just need to get 2 floor speakers and 1 sub. My question is, what kind of speakers as far as specs (wattage, impedance, etc) should I get for this receiver? Anything you would recommend somewhere between $400-$700 new/used? I see a lot on bestbuy but I am not exactly sure which ones have great reputation and real reviews from the experts here. I will be using the system for music streaming from my phone/ipad (bought a bluetooth adapter) and also for movies (4k Visio TV). Thank you folks in advance!

Here are the specs online for my receiver:
POWER OUTPUT:
100 W (20 Hz - 20 kHz, 2 channels driven @ 8 ohms, 0.09% THD)
110 W (1 kHz, 2 channels driven @ 8 ohms, 0.9% THD)

DYNAMIC POWER:
140 W @ 8 ohms
180 W @ 6 ohms
210 W @ 4 ohms
250 W @ 2 ohms

· HTS Moderator , Reviewer
3,409 Posts
If you're going to use this system for HT you really need a center channel as well. With that, a left and right speaker along with a sub you'll have a 3.1 setup, enough to get some of the intended experience. With just 2 speakers and a sub all you'll be doing is basically amplifying the sound your TV would play, certainly not ideal.

How big is your room (HWD)? The total volume of space factors in when buying speakers and subwoofers.

· Registered
254 Posts