Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
E

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I'm pretty new to using REW and all the connection diagrams I've been looking at only show the BFD hooked up to the subwoofer. I was wondering if REW can also be used to calibrate your front speakers as well. TIA for clearing up the confusing :)

·
Registered
486 Posts
eternalsnow,

Welcome to the forum!

When you say calibrate, do you mean the typical 75dB calibration with all the other speakers in the system, or do you mean to equalize the response to remove any major peaks/lows?

If you mean equalize, REW can help show if your receiver is equipped with a built in adjustment program (Audysse, ypao, etc.), REW can show you if it made any adjustments. If you want to equalize the mains similar to how a bfd does the subs, you are going to need external amps and a better parametric eq than the bfd. REW can help a great deal in this aspect. Wayne just helped me through this process with my set-up and it has been nothing but a positive experience.

:bigsmile: :nerd:

E

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
eternalsnow,

Welcome to the forum!

When you say calibrate, do you mean the typical 75dB calibration with all the other speakers in the system, or do you mean to equalize the response to remove any major peaks/lows?

If you mean equalize, REW can help show if your receiver is equipped with a built in adjustment program (Audysse, ypao, etc.), REW can show you if it made any adjustments. If you want to equalize the mains similar to how a bfd does the subs, you are going to need external amps and a better parametric eq than the bfd. REW can help a great deal in this aspect. Wayne just helped me through this process with my set-up and it has been nothing but a positive experience.

:bigsmile: :nerd:
Sorry, I meant equalize the front speakers to remove any major peaks/lows.